August 18, 2016
Boris Giltburg to Debut at Carnegie Hall
Sasha Gusov

Born in Moscow in 1984 and raised in Tel Aviv from an early age, pianist Boris Giltburg gives his New York recital debut at Carnegie's Zankel Hall with an all-Russian program, presented by the American Friends of the Arthur Rubinstein International Music Society.  

Mr. Giltburg has won numerous international competitions, including first prize at the 2013 Queen Elisabeth Competition, second prize and audience prize at the 2011 Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition, and second prize and audience prize at the 2002 Santander International Piano Competition. He has appeared with many leading orchestras such as the Philharmonia Orchestra, Israel Philharmonic, DSO Berlin, Frankfurt Radio Symphony, Swedish Radio Symphony, Danish Radio Symphony and Indianapolis Symphony. Boris Giltburg made his BBC Proms debut in 2010, has toured regularly to South America and China, and has also toured Germany with the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse. In the months following his Queen Elisabeth win, he played at the Vienna Musikverein, Leipzig Gewandhaus, London Southbank Centre, Teatro Colon Buenos Aires, Colmar Festival, and with the Seattle Symphony, London Philharmonic and St Petersburg Philharmonic orchestras. Recent highlights include debuts with the NHK Symphony Tokyo, Baltimore Symphony and Rotterdam Philharmonic, as well as his recital debut in Tokyo at Toppan Hall. Mr. Giltburg has worked with conductors such as Alsop, BÄ›lohlávek, Brabbins, De Waart, Dohnanyi, Fedoseyev, Gimeno, Neeme Jaervi, Karabits, Krivine, Lintu, Petrenko, Saraste, Shelley, Skrowaczewski, Sokhiev and Tortelier.

The Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition began in 1974 at the initiative of Jan Jacob Bistritzky, whose aim was to unite the name and the artistic legacy of Arthur Rubinstein with the cultural life of Israel. Conceived in the spirit of this legendary pianist and launched with his blessing, this triennial event in Tel Aviv is committed to attaining standards of the highest order and is a respected international forum for presenting talented, aspiring young pianists and fostering their careers. The Arthur Rubinstein Award and other prizes are given to young pianists whose skills reveal outstanding musicianship as well as the ability to render versatile, artistically superior interpretations of works ranging from the pre-classical to the contemporary. Since its inception, the Competition has commissioned 19 works by Israeli composers. Previous notable first prize winners of the Competition include Emanuel Ax (who won during its inaugural year), Jeffrey Kahane, Kirill Gerstein and Daniil Trifonov. The 15th Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition is scheduled to be held from April 25 - May 11, 2017.  

Thursday, October 27, 2016 at 7:30 PM Zankel Hall, Carnegie Hall

9 Études-Tableaux Op. 39

Sonata No. 4  

String Quartet No. 8 Op. 110 in C minor (arr. for piano solo B. Giltburg) 

Sonata No. 7 Op. 83 in B-flat major 

See Related:
Back to List
Back to Top