October 19, 2017
92Y November Concerts

Violinist Leila Josefowicz with pianist John Novacek

Praised by The Los Angeles Times as “the Wonder Woman of violinists” who is “physically able to respond to whatever is thrown at her but also temperamentally and theatrically transformative,” violinist Leila Josefowicz, long known for her commitment to performing works from the 20th and 21st centuries, brings a recital program of music by Sibelius (Valse Triste, Op. 44, No. 1, arr. Friedrich Hermann) and Prokofiev (Violin Sonata No. 1 in F minor, Op. 80)along with John Adams’s 1995 Road Movies, and, in honor of his 100th birthday year, Bernd Alois Zimmermann (Sonata for Violin and Piano).

Saturday, November 4, 2017, 8 pm 
92Y – Kaufmann Concert Hall​
Distinguished Artists

Leila Josefowicz, violin
John Novacek, piano

SIBELIUSValse Triste, Op. 44, No. 1 (arr. F. Hermann)
PROKOFIEV: Violin Sonata No. 1 in F minor, Op. 80
B. A. ZIMMERMANN: Sonata for Violin and Piano 


BACH ODYSSEY IV: Angela Hewitt Surveys Bach Keyboard Works

Angela Hewitt, “the outstanding Bach pianist of her generation” (The Sunday Times, London), continues to showcase her skills as one of the world’s foremost performers and Bach interpreters in the second year of her four-season journey (12 recitals) of Bach’s complete keyboard works at New York’s 92Y, Ottawa’s National Arts Centre, London’s Wigmore Hall and Tokyo’s Kioi Hall.  In the coming season, she presents three recitals featuring four partitas (November 8), the complete Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 1 (March 14) and Goldberg Variations (March 18).  “Hewitt played Bach’s three-part inventions so that they came over as one single variegated work, with the plangent ninth acting as its dark heart, in the way the Black Pearl variation does for the Goldbergs.” The Independent (London) opined.

Wednesday, November 8, 2017, 7:30 pm
92Y – Kaufmann Concert Hall
Bach Odyssey (Year 2)
Angela Hewitt, piano

Partita No. 3 in A minor, BWV 827
Partita No. 5 in G major, BWV 829
Partie in A major, BWV 832 
Partita No. 6 in E minor, BWV 830

*The second year of Angela Hewitt’s 4-year survey of Bach’s keyboard music

"From CPE Bach to John Cage"

“Outstanding” Bosnian-born pianist Pedja Muzijevic (Chicago Tribune) has defined his career with creative programming and unusual combinations of new and old music.  His artistic curiosity has led him to explore both the music of the 18th and 19th centuries on period instruments and the music of such contemporary composers as Knussen, Carter, Cage, Corigliano, Ades, Wuorinen, and many others.  Dedicated to musical innovators, mavericks and iconoclasts, the hour-long program at Buttenweiser Hall spans three centuries, featuring works by C.P.E and W.F. Bach, John Cage, Henry Cowell and Kurt Schwitters. 

*Concert running time is approximately one hour (no intermission). Doors open at 9 pm; each ticket includes a complimentary glass of wine.

Friday, November 10, 2017, 9:30 pm
92Y – Buttenwieser Hall
Pedja Muzijevic,
piano and prepared piano

C.P.E. BACH: Sonata in G minor, Wq. 65/17
CAGE:  Sonatas II, IV and V from Sonatas and Interludes for prepared piano
W.F. BACH: Fantasy in C minor, FK 15
CAGE:Third Interlude, Sonatas XIV and XV “Gemini” from Sonatas and Interludes for prepared piano
C.P.E. BACH: Sonata in E minor, Wq. 59/1
COWELL:  Aeolian Harp


New York Philharmonic String Quartet Makes
New York Recital Debut

The newly-founded “marvelous” (The New York Times) New York Philharmonic String Quartet—Concertmaster Frank Huang, Principal Associate Concertmaster Sheryl Staples, Principal Viola Cynthia Phelps, and Principal Cello Carter Brey—makes its New York recital debut at 92Y in the fall, co-presented by the New York Philharmonic. The program includes Beethoven’s String Quartet No. 4; Dvořák’s String Quartet in F major, “American”; and Mendelssohn’s String Quartet in F minor.

Sunday, November 12, 2017, 3 pm 
92Y – Kaufmann Concert Hall
Chamber Ensembles
New York Philharmonic String Quartet (New York Recital Debut)

BEETHOVEN: Quartet in C minor, Op. 18, No. 4
DVOŘÁK: Quartet in F major, Op. 96 “American”
MENDELSSOHN: Quartet No. 6 in F minor, Op. 80

*Co-presented with the New York Philharmonic.


Benjamin Grosvenor (92Y debut)

Raved by The Los Angeles Times as a pianist who “delivers virtuosity beyond his years” and “ If you haven’t heard him, hear him now,”  Young British keyboard sensation Benjamin Grosvenor makes his 92Y debut in a program that spans the eras. He begins with Bach’s French Suite No. 5 in G major, BWV 816 followed by Brahms’s Four Pieces, Op. 119, which are interspersed with Brett Dean’s 2013 work, inspired by Brahms, Hommage à Brahms. The second half of the program opens with Debussy’s Prelude to L’après-midi d’un faune, arranged by Leonard Borwick, and is followed by Berg’s Sonata, Op. 1. Ravel’s Gaspard de la nuit concludes the performance.

Wednesday, November 15, 2017, 7:30 pm 
92Y – Kaufmann Concert Hall​
Masters of the Keyboard

Benjamin Grosvenor, piano (92Y debut)

BACH: French Suite No. 5 in G major, BWV 816
BRAHMS: Four Pieces, Op. 119 interspersed with
BRETT DEANHommage à Brahms
DEBUSSY: Prelude to L’aprés-midi d’un faune (arr. Leonard Borwick)
BERG: Sonata, Op. 1
RAVEL: Gaspard de la nuit


See Related:
Back to List
Back to Top