October 2, 2023
CMS November 2023 Concert Calendar

Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center 

*Denotes a work new to CMS

Saturday, November 4, 7:30 PM • Alice Tully Hall

To celebrate Rachmaninoff as a virtuoso pianist and composer, CMS offers an international piano summit, with four extraordinary pianists -- Inon Barnatan (Israel), Alessio Bax (Italy), Jean-Efflam Bavouzet (France) and Wu Han (Taiwan). Rotating pairings of pianists explore the chamber music repertoire for two pianos, four hands. The composers on the program -- Mozart, Tchaikovsky, Debussy and Bolcom -- all influenced or were influenced by Rachmaninoff (whose Suite No. 2 is also on the program) and made significant contributions to the piano literature.  

Mozart Sonata in D major for Two Pianos, K. 448 (1781)
Tchaikovsky The Nutcracker Suite, transcribed for Piano, Four Hands, Op. 71a (1892)*
Debussy En Blanc et Noir for Two Pianos (1915)
William Bolcom “The Serpent’s Kiss” from The Garden of Eden Suite for Two Pianos (1974)*
Rachmaninoff Suite No. 2 in C minor for Two Pianos, Op. 17 (1901)
Inon Barnatan, Alessio Bax, Jean-Efflam Bavouzet, Wu Han, Piano


Clockwise from Top Left: Reena Esmail, Saad Haddad, Libby Larsen, Wang Jie, and Todd Cochran 

Thursday, November 9, 7:30 PM, Rose Studio at CMS
World Premieres by Todd Cochran and Libby Larsen
New York Premiere by Wang Jie

CMS's series devoted to the work of living composers opens with two World Premieres for clarinet, cello and piano—Soul-Bird (2021) by Todd Cochran and Trio Noir (2022) by Libby LarsenWang Jie’s Blame the Obituary for Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Cello, Piano and Narrator is a CMS Co-Commission and a New York premiere; it is an odd, humorous look at the quest for immortality. The program also includes Nadiya by Indian American composer Reena Esmail, who is known for bridging Indian and Western classical music, and Kaman Fantasy by Saad Haddad, who explores the qualities of Western art music and Middle Eastern musical tradition.

Reena EsmailNadiya for Flute and Cello (2016)*
Todd CochranSoul-Bird for Clarinet, Cello, and Piano (2021) (World Premiere)*
Libby LarsenTrio Noir for Clarinet, Cello, and Piano (2022) (World Premiere)*
Saad HaddadKaman Fantasy for Violin and Piano (2015)*
Wang JieBlame the Obituary for Narrator, Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Cello, and Piano (2023) (CMS Co-Commission, New York Premiere)*
Fred Child, Narrator  •  Hyeyeon Park, Piano  •  Tien-Hsin Cindy Wu, Violin  •  Dmitri Atapine, Cello  •  Sooyun Kim, Flute  •   Romie de Guise-Langlois, Clarinet

Tuesday, November 14, 7:30 pm, Alice Tully Hall

The majestic B-major trio of Brahms, created in his youth, is a milestone of the genre and revered by performers and listeners alike. Fanny Mendelssohn’s piano trio, completed shortly before her death, builds up through stormy waves to a marvelous finale. These two works are bridged by Clara Schumann’s sole piano trio. 

Fan. Mendelssohn Trio in D minor for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 11 (1847)*
C. Schumann Trio in G minor for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 17 (1846)*
Brahms Trio in B major for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 8 (1854, rev. 1889)
Michael Stephen Brown, Juho Pohjonen, Piano • Paul Huang, James Thompson, Violin  •  Sihao He, Paul Watkins, Cello

Thursday, November 16, 6:30 & 9:00 PM, Rose Studio at CMS

Intimate concerts in the Rose Studio at CMS explore both classics of the chamber music repertoire as well as worthy discoveries not often heard on the stage. The 6:30 PM performance offers traditional seating, and the 9:00 PM performance offers cabaret-style seating with a complimentary glass of wine and snacks. Violinist Kristin Lee serves as host for both performances. 

Mozart Trio in G major for Piano, Violin and Cello, K. 496 (1788)
Elgar Quintet in A minor for Piano, Two Violins, Viola, and Cello, Op. 84 (1918–19)
Gilbert Kalish, Piano  •  Ani Kavafian, Kristin Lee, Violin  • Paul Neubauer, Viola  •  Timothy Eddy, Cello

Sunday, November 19, 5:00 PM, Alice Tully Hall

An evening of quintets that reveals the potential of five players, with music by Dvořák, Farrenc, Corigliano, and Beethoven. The ensemble includes pianist Gilles Vonsattel and clarinetist David Shifrin. 

Dvořák Nocturne for Two Violins, Viola, Cello, and Bass, Op. 40 (1870, rev. 1882)
John CoriglianoSoliloquy for Clarinet and String Quartet (1977, adapted 1995)
Farrenc Quintet in A minor for Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello, and Double Bass, Op. 30 (1839)*
Beethoven Quintet in C major for Two Violins, Two Violas, and Cello, Op. 29 (1801)
Gilles Vonsattel, Piano  •  Francisco Fullana, Arnaud Sussmann, Violin  •  Yura Lee, Matthew Lipman, Viola  • Nicholas Canellakis, Cello  •  Anthony Manzo, Double Bass  •  David Shifrin, Clarinet

See Related:
Back to List
Back to Top