November 28, 2023
CMS January 2024 Concert Calendar

Thursday January 18, 7:30 PM • Rose Studio at CMS
New York Premiere by Jessie Montgomery 

The second installment of this season's Sonic Spectrum series, devoted to music by living composers, is presented in the intimate setting of the Rose Studio at CMS. The concert features the New York premiere of Jessie Montgomery’s Musings for Two Violins (2023), co-commissioned by CMS and the Chicago Symphony, where it premiered this past spring. The work, inspired by Béla Bartók’s 44 Duos for Two Violins, is a homage to Montgomery’s favorite composers of string music and was written specifically with Paul Huang and Danbi Um in mind. Also on the program is 2023 CMS Stoeger Prize Winner Chris Rogerson’s Afterword for Two Violins and Piano (2020), which he wrote after the death of Jessye Norman; Light and Matter (2014) by Kaija Saariaho, the renowned Finnish composer who passed away in June 2023; and Lera Auerbach’s Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Piano, Op. 63, “September 11” (2001).  All Sonic Spectrum concerts are also available via free livestream.  Link to event & livestream

Jessie Montgomery Musings for Two Violins (2023) (CMS Co-Commission, New York Premiere)
Lera Auerbach Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Piano, Op. 63, “September 11” (2001)                                    
Chris Rogerson Afterword for Two Violins and Piano (2020)   
Kaija Saariaho Light and Matter for Piano, Violin, and Cello (2014)       

Mika Sasaki, Piano • Paul Huang, Danbi Um, Violin • Nicholas Canellakis, Cello 

Thursday January 25, 6:30 & 9:00 PM • Rose Studio at CMS

Intimate concerts in the Rose Studio at CMS explore both classics of the chamber music repertoire as well as worthy discoveries not often heard on the stage. The 6:30 PM performance offers traditional seating, and the 9:00 PM performance, which is also available via livestream, offers cabaret-style seating with a complimentary glass of wine and snacks. The Elgar Sonata was last heard at CMS in 1998, and the Vaughan Williams Quintet is being performed at CMS for the first time. 

Edward Elgar Sonata in E minor for Violin and Piano, Op. 82 (1918)                                                     
Ralph Vaughan Williams Quintet in C minor for Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello, and Double Bass (1903)   

Shai Wosner, Piano • Arnaud Sussmann, Violin • Paul Neubauer, Viola • Nicholas Canellakis, Cello • Blake Hinson, Double Bass

Sunday January 28, 5:00 PM • Alice Tully Hall

CMS’s Artistic Directors, cellist David Finckel and pianist Wu Han take to the stage of Alice Tully Hall for a performance of three sonatas for cello and piano that they have not performed previously at Alice Tully Hall: sonatas by Debussy and Shostakovich, and a third, by Bruce Adolphe, which was written for them. Finckel and Wu Han are joined by Bowers Program artists Richard Lin (violin) and Timothy Ridout (viola) for Dvořák's Piano Quartet. 

Debussy Sonata for Cello and Piano (1915)   
Couple for Cello and Piano (1998)
Shostakovich Sonata in D minor for Cello and Piano, Op. 40 (1934)       
Quartet in E-flat major for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello, Op. 87 (1889)                                                                  

Wu Han, Piano • Richard Lin, Violin • Timothy Ridout, Viola • David Finckel, Cello 

See Related:
Back to List
Back to Top