Composer | Public Relations
Media Center



The World premiere of Tod Machover’s Overstory Overture, featuring Joyce DiDonato, takes place on March 7, 2023 at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall in New York, performed by the international chamber ensemble Sejong Soloists with conductor Earl Lee. The concert travels to Korea for the Asia premiere at the Seoul Arts Center on March 16, 2023.
Tod Machover (director, Opera of the Future research group, MIT Media Lab)

More information at: https://citysciencesummit.or
Performed by the MIT Symphony Orchestra

A Toronto Symphony is the first of composer Tod Machover’s City Symphonies. It was commissioned by the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, who premiered the piece in March 2013.
What does our city sound like?

In partnership with TSO music director Peter Oundjian, the orchestra itself, and the celebrated MIT Media Lab, Machover is asking Torontonians to collaborate with him in writing a work for, by and about our city.
Premiere performance, September 5, 2015.

Tod Machover (*1953)
Eine Sinfonie für Luzern
Auftragswerk von LUCERNE FESTIVAL | Uraufführung
"A Symphony for Lucerne" is a project initiated by the Lucerne Festival in collaboration with composer Tod Machover and the citizens of Lucerne. Using as many noises and sounds as possible gathered from Lucerne, Tod Machover will compose a piece from and for Lucerne. And those who are 'all ears' are co-composers!
The City Symphonies project by the Opera of the Future group, a creation of MIT Media Lab, brings together symphony orchestras, city residents, artists and amateurs. At CityLab Detroit, Tod Machover illustrates how to discover and collect the city sounds all around us.
What does Detroit sound like? The Detroit Symphony Orchestra (DSO) and composer Tod Machover will ask every Detroiter that question in the coming year as they work with the community to create a collaborative symphony with sound submissions and conceptual contributions from the public.
Performed at MIT’s New Music Marathon
FAST Festival
Kresge Auditorium
April 11, 2011

Chomsky Suite (2011) was composed by Tod Machover for Noam Chomsky and the Kronos Quartet as part of the FAST Festival in celebration of MIT’s 150th anniversary.
MIT Media Lab Professor Tod Machover discusses his robotic opera, 'Death and the Powers.'
Philadelphia Voices is a creative community music project led by composer Tod Machover and The Philadelphia Orchestra in collaboration with the citizens of Philadelphia.